VICTIM COMPENSATIONThe Michigan Crime Victims Compensation Act was enacted for the purpose of giving financial assistance to crime victims who are injured or lose income because of a crime. The Crime Victims Rights Unit will be able to answer any questions that victims may have regarding this compensation. Applications are available at our office.
To Receive Compensation
- The crime must have occurred in the State of Michigan.
- A police report must be made within 48 hours of the crime, except for good cause and the victim must cooperate with the investigation.
- The victim must have suffered actual bodily harm.
- The victim cannot have contributed to the infliction of the injury nor have been responsible for, or an accomplice to the crime.
- The victim must have at least $200 out of pocket medical or rehabilitative expenses and/or a loss of two continuous weeks of earnings or support.
- In the case of death, a claim may be filed by a family member. This may include funeral expenses.
- Expenses or losses covered by personal insurance or that can be paid by another source will not be covered.
- Incomplete applications can result in long delays in claim determination.
- Most claims will be processed within 4 to 6 months.
- Minimum loss requirements may be waived for victims retired by reason of age or disability and for victims of criminal sexual conduct.
- Property loss in NOT covered.
- A garnishment would be filled in this Court in the name of the original criminal case.
- On the garnishment form, the name of the victim would be listed as the "Plaintiff name."
- All payments are to be made payable to and directed to the Court.
- There is no court filing fee.
- The judgment (for purposes of garnishment) expires when the restitution is paid in full.
- Payments that are received at the Court will be forwarded to the victim.
- The Notice of Judgment Lien is filed in this Court in the name of the original criminal case.
- The name of the victim would be listed as the "Judgment creditor's name."
- There is no filing fee with the court.
- After filing the form with this Court, the victim must record the Notice of Judgment Lien with the county register of deeds where the Defendant's property is located.
- The victim will have to pay the statutory recording fee with the county register of deeds.
- The first lien will expire in 5 years and may be renewed once.